Last Week

Yesterday I was reflecting in my personal study and had a spiritual experience.  I was studying Doctrine and Covenants, Section 97, Verse 8, which reads…
“Verily I say unto you, all among them who know their hearts are honest, and are broken, and their spirits contrite, and are willing to observe their covenants by sacrifice—yea, every sacrifice which I, the Lord, shall command—they are accepted of me.”

I wrote down in my study journal and asked myself, “Is my heart honest and broken?  Is my spirit contrite? Am I willing to observe the covenants I’ve made with God by sacrifice?  Yes, every sacrifice needful to keep my covenants completely?”

Then I asked myself, “what sacrifices have I made to keep my covenants?” Multiple sacrifices that I have made came to my remembrance.  Then I felt prompted to re-study the talk, “Becoming a Consecrated Missionary”, by Tad R. Callister.  A talk that talks much about sacrifices to make in order to become a Consecrated Missionary.  I felt peace and guidance as I read it, knowing that I have strived to do all I can in my mission, to do what is right and to fulfill my duty.  Towards the end of the talk, Callister says,
“I do not think the Lord expects immediate perfection of us, but I do believe he expects immediate progress, and with that progress comes consecration.”  With these words came peace to my soul.  I have strived to make all the progress I could and that has made me a consecrated missionary.  Then I asked myself, what more can I sacrifice for this last week and here on out in order to complete more fully my covenants. And the Spirit spoke to me and told me what I must do.  The joy of the Gospel!  Becoming more and more like the Savior until that perfect day!  When His merciful Atonement covers us after all that we could have done.

The Marcone Family are doing well.  Yamila, the mom and the gospel leader of the family, is still praying for answers.  She’s tied between her old church that she feels the need to continue attending and our church where she feels like everything is true.  She’s reading a lot of the Book of Mormon and attended church again yesterday with her two little ones.  We continue praying and working for and with her family.

Love you a ton fam and friends!

Elder Orme

Leave a comment